Camera button instant on does not work when screen is off

Discussion in 'Samsung Focus' started by ninjaap, Dec 8, 2010.

  1. ninjaap

    ninjaap Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,932
    Likes Received:
    22
    Doesn't work when screen is off. But as soon as I turn the screen on, even when locked with wallpaper down, camera button brings up camera.
  2. WP7map.com

    WP7map.com New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    I noticed the same thing. Previously I had the HTC Surround and it would turn on when depressing the camera button but the Focus seems to require you to power it on to use the camera button.

    Actually I wish they would remove the button since I hit it accidently often.
  3. ninjaap

    ninjaap Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,932
    Likes Received:
    22
    It's wierd because it was working the first day I got the phone. Then it just stopped, sometime after I did a hard reset to fix another issue. I can live with it, but isn't the instant on thing what MS's trying to advertise?
  4. pinoyken

    pinoyken New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was messing around with this, and you actually have to hold the camera button for a few seconds for the camera to come up if the phone is in standby mode with the screen off.
  5. ninjaap

    ninjaap Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,932
    Likes Received:
    22
    Yup I've tried that. It used to work. But now it doesn't.
  6. pinoyken

    pinoyken New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    This might seem like a weird statement, but do you have a PIN lock for you phone?
    Because when I press the camera button when the phone is in standby, the camera comes up and there's a little lock icon on the bottom left of the screen(i.e, you can't swipe left to view previous pictures, only the picture you're taking atm.) Once you tap it, it asks you to unlock your phone.
    Or maybe it's just a bug after all...
  7. ninjaap

    ninjaap Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,932
    Likes Received:
    22
    Thanks for that idea. But no, I don't have PIN lock set up.
  8. Pancake mix

    Pancake mix New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    4
    mines still work
  9. ninjaap

    ninjaap Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,932
    Likes Received:
    22
    Lol. Thanks for letting me know.
  10. kareljack

    kareljack Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,077
    Likes Received:
    15
    Weird... it still works for me. Maybe a hardware defect in yours?
  11. ninjaap

    ninjaap Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,932
    Likes Received:
    22
    I'm thinking more software because the button works fine in all other instances. It just won't wake up from a blank screen.
  12. ninjaap

    ninjaap Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,932
    Likes Received:
    22
    Well, I guess I can try a hard reset and see if it fixes it. I mean if I call customer support, they're going to make me do it anyways.
  13. ninjaap

    ninjaap Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,932
    Likes Received:
    22
    Welps, that didn't work. In fact it got worse. The screen problem I was having before came back. Now I have 2 problems.... LOL... Here's hoping Amazonwireless can help me.
  14. ninjaap

    ninjaap Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,932
    Likes Received:
    22
    Sweet geezus! After 10 hard resets (not exagerating) in a row everything is finally back to normal. Screen and camera button problem is gone.
  15. ninjaap

    ninjaap Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,932
    Likes Received:
    22
    Okay. The problems comes and goes. This is going to get exchanged tomorrow for sure.
  16. termleech

    termleech Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    4
    I'm sure this isn't issue since it seems to come and go, but did you make sure under Settings > Applications > Camera the Allow Camera button to wake up the phone is enabled?
  17. ninjaap

    ninjaap Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,932
    Likes Received:
    22
    Thanks for the suggestion. But I just checked, and yes it is set to enabled.
  18. Chris Romp

    Chris Romp New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Make sure you're not blocking the proximity sensor on the top of the phone when you try the camera button. It uses it to ensure you're not taking pictures of the inside of your pocket. :)
  19. ninjaap

    ninjaap Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,932
    Likes Received:
    22
    I tried that too. Even did it with one hand and the left behind my back. :)

Share This Page