Blank Black screen after "waking-up" from standby mode....

Discussion in 'Moto Q 9h' started by djanggo, Nov 20, 2007.

  1. djanggo

    djanggo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Blank Black screen after "waking-up" from standby mode....

    Has anyone experience the screen remain black (except for the outermost faint outline) when you wake the phone up from stand by mode?kinda leaves the screen in a frozoen or locked up state

    it is getting to a point being annoying, enough to prompt me to write this concern.

    the contacts on my computer and my phone are different can i sync my phone contacts to a different folder so it does not mess my computer contacts... why? certain items i don't want... ehem... to know

    dj
    [​IMG][​IMG]
  2. recasper

    recasper New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Its wierd mine is doing the same thing on occasion. Have to pull the Batt to get it up and running again. I wonder if this is a fault in a few of them. Hate to have to return the thing just after getting it.
  3. Creepy Ross

    Creepy Ross New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just started experiencing the same thing. Never had a problem until I installed FlashVideoBundle1.4.3.cab, TCPMP and Candlelight files this evening. Now, just as you described, the screen remains black except a fine white line around the borders after coming out of sleep. Menus will show, but the majority of the screen is black. The way I "clear" it now is to turn on the camera to full screen. However, soon as the screen saver comes back on, I get the black screen.

    Has anyone found a solution?
  4. TobyK

    TobyK New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got that after installing candlelight and auto keylock. one of them did it. I uninstalled both but it still does it :-( How does one undo the candlelight changes?
  5. Creepy Ross

    Creepy Ross New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    i never figured out how to fix the problem, ended up returning the phone. now i'm a bit paranoid about adding any new apps. sounds like most folks haven't had issues with most of the popular apps discussed on these boards, but so far i've only added ones produced by the big boys... windows live search, google maps, yahoo go, etc.
  6. smiller2076

    smiller2076 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    0
    One of those two apps you mentioned (or both) are probably not comaptible with the new Qs. Maybe we can hound the developers for some updated stuff...
  7. mtincher

    mtincher New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just had the same problem after installing Candlelight on my Q9H. Uninstalled Candlelight and the problem persisted. After reading this thread, I came up with the idea to reinstall Candlelight, had to do a battery pull and restart, then installed Candlelight and turned it off. Hadn't had the problem since.
  8. TobyK

    TobyK New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Returning the phone is a bit extreme :laugh2: I just did a master reset. Leaving Candlelight well enough alone...
  9. boost

    boost New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Black Blank Screen - Standby Wake up Time Problem

    Black Blank Screen - Standby Wakeup Time Problem

    I received my New Moto Q9h 2 weeks ago, and up until 2 days ago it was working PERFECTLY.

    Now when My Q9H phone goes into Standby mode after a few minutes of idle time something goes wrong when I try to wake it.

    The Screen Backlight, and keys Illuminate, but the screen stays BLACK or BLANK between 5-12 seconds, and then finally displays information.

    The exact symptoms also occur when receiving a call, while receiving a text message, or when trying to wake the screen while on a call. To be more specific, I get an illuminated blank screen (and key board) prior to getting information across the screen (Which is frustrating when you want to know who is calling)

    It should also be noted that this problem does not occur for the first few Min. after Powering on (Meaning standby wake up is instantaneous right after a fresh power On/Off Cycle). The task manager is also clean (void of running programs) when this problem occurs.

    There was / is no outside software installed on my Q9H, and the only recent changes made to the handset (Windows Mobile 6.0) was the activation of the Windows Mobile Password Protected Screen Lock and Phone Alarm which I have I since disabled (removed the battery and restarted my phone)

    I also cleared the contents of my Predicative Text dictionary, and turned off Predicative text as suggested by Q9HGood, and this has not fixed my issue.

    I have not preformed, and do not know how to preform any of the soft / hard resets.
  10. sherri

    sherri Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    10,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    By pulling battery out, you did not disable phone alarm...To remove the program from phone, go to: start/settings/more(until you see "remove programs". Click "remove programs", and go to Phone Alarm. Click remove from there....

    If you do a Master Reset, back-up your info (contacts/calendar/pictures/etc...)first, as Master Reset erases everything. (On your phone, I think this is called the Master Clear).

    Try removing Phone Alarm first & see if this helps...
  11. boost

    boost New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    When I say I disabled the Phone Alarm and Screen Lock that is bundled in Windows Mobile 6 I mean I disabled them from within windows mobile, and then power cycled my phone. There are NO programs to remove.

    Any other windows mobile experts want to take a shot at this issue before I round file this piece of junk?

    What is even more frustrating is calling Motorola and getting customer support somewhere in Latin America. When I asked the "Q" specialist I was speaking to if he could cross reference my issue with that of other tech support incidences all I got was radio silence.
  12. jpxx02

    jpxx02 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2008
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    this has been happening to me lately also...I do not have any 3rd part apps or anything on my phone and it happens...mainly over night when i am charging my phone and sometimes during the day too...its beginning to make me mad...has anyone figured out why it is doing this?
  13. jakeg

    jakeg New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm having the exact same symptoms. No 3rd party software installed. With mine, it happens almost all the time.
  14. boost

    boost New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Another interesting symptom is this.....

    When my screen first dims I can see that there is still information displayed even though it's dark. Then seconds later it goes completely blank.

    While this problem is happening between power cycles sometimes the Wake Up is quick and snappy, and sometimes it can take 10 long seconds of button pressing to get anything across the screen. (the screen also stays blank for up to 10 seconds when receiving phone calls which means I cannot see who is calling) Again, typically nothing is running in the Task manager, and I routinely clear out all my text messages (sent, deleted, and I am not running predictive text), and all my memory on the phone is free.

    I should also mention that this is not a hardware issue (meaning the phone has not been dropped, and I squeezing the corner of the screen has no effect on how fast my phone wakes. I also disabled "Smart Backlight" under POWER MANAGEMENT with no positive effects.

    I put a comprehensive email into Moto customer support, and surprise surprise...NA DA.

    This is a business product that I rely on every day that is barely limping after a few weeks of use. At this point I don't know who I hate more. Microsoft for developing such a worthless operating system, or Motorola for being completely incompetent.

    If there is anyone out there that can offer some help, any and all feedback would be appreciated.
  15. zelendel

    zelendel Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    0
    My Wifes phone is also acting the same way and I have been trying to determin the cause. So I was thinking if we all could find the common thread we might be able to figure it out and fix it. I dont think it is any 3rd party software as some dont have any. next question is what if any hacks have you done to the Q.
  16. Jwurm99

    Jwurm99 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Correct

    Yes, make sure you are not running any third party applications such as candlelight these are known to cause windows errors on the phone. I installed applications like these and recieved the same problems. The way I fixed it was doing a hard clear and reset of my phone. This fixed the problem. Can you see the regular carrier logo when you boot up your phone?
  17. jakeg

    jakeg New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just upgraded to WM6.1. Same issue. I'm also noticing that if I slide the battery cover off just a tad, the screen will light up. The phone has not had physical damage, but what the heck is the battery cover doing to help this?? Anyways, pretty frustrated with it, about to buy an iPhone and be done with this device.
  18. boost

    boost New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Moto Poo...errr Q

    So I just heard back from Gabby at Moto Customer support and here is what my Latin American moto q expert said.

    Regarding your concern, we apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced and we are sorry for the delay. The soft reset consists on taking out the battery for 30 seconds and then placing it back to try again.

    In this case, it will be necessary that you perform a MASTER RESET on the Q9h, it WILL NOT DELETE your personal information such contacts, calendar or media files, but it will change back to default all the personalized settings like wallpaper, ring style, menu order, etc. Please press start, select system tools and choose master reset. The phone will turn off and on by itself.

    If that does not work, the other option is try the MASTER CLEAR but IT WILL DELETE EVERYTHING on your device.

    We hope that you find this information useful and look forward to assisting you in the future.

    For information about Motorola products and services, please visit us at http://www.hellomoto.com/

    Thank you for contacting Motorola e-mail support.

    Best Regards,

    Gabriela

    Motorola Email Support


    ===========================

    So my question is this. Since I unlocked and reconfigured this device to run on tmobile Will a "master reset" bring back all of my old ATT internet settings, or am I safe from having to reconfigure my Tzones and SMS?


    Jake Jake Jake.....

    Your issue is PURLY faulty hardware, while the rest of us are dealing with something that has to do with The Windows Mobile Operating System. If you are out of warranty you might consider getting handy with a soldering iron or toss it on ebay as a parts phone.

    As for the iphone, just make sure you own a computer with USB 2.0 or you will have purched a really spiffy paper weight with a 2 year committment.
  19. zelendel

    zelendel Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    0
    As far as the Tmobile settings go....Copy them down cuz yeah you are going to have to set them up again...*semi off topic* @ were you able to get the settings for MMS to work? I have spent hours on the phone with them and still no joy *back on topic*
  20. boost

    boost New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    I initially called tmobile's unsupported handset division and they walked me through all of the Tzones, SMS and MMS settings.

    With their config. I was able to receive MMS, but WAP and HTML browsing did not function.

    I then used the settings that ksemler gave me, and wham. Browsing worked perfectly.

    When MMS was working I would send the photo, and the device would pop up a notifier that said the message "HAD NOT" been successfully sent.

    What is truly ironic about that notifier is that the mms was in fact sent, XXX Multiple times. Meaning the phone was sending and resending the message over and over again.

    Now (with tmobiles MMS settings, and Ksemlers WAP & Proxy Settings) when I receive an MMS I get a "down load" link that when accessed throws an error message. "File could not be retrieved" or something similar. With my current MMS settings sending a photo does nothing.

    So in answer to your question, yes MMS will work....Sort of, and with a major trade off...no web.

Share This Page