Battery swap procedure

Discussion in 'Motorola Q' started by schmidtj, Aug 31, 2007.

  1. schmidtj

    schmidtj New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Battery swap procedure

    I purchased a spare battery "just in case". I guess I'm anal when it comes to redundancy.
    At any rate is there a proper procedure for swapping a Q's battery without loosing data?
    I suppose I could leave it on the charger during the swap but will running a Q on the charger without a battery damage it?
    Is there a "proper" procedure for swapping out a battery?
    I don't know the state of charge of the replacement battery so it could be totally discharged.

    I'm a former Treo user. Hotsync before a battery swap would permit restoring the phone. If I activesync and the Q gets wiped out will an activesync restore all the data and applications?
    Tnx,
    J
  2. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    no that doesnt matter

    you can just pull the battery out and put the new one in you wont loose any data (provided your not in the middle of an operation or function)

    but if you dont feel comfortable you can just turn the Q off then pull the battery out and put the new one in
  3. schmidtj

    schmidtj New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks,
    Now I am more curious ...
    How long will the Q maintain the data with no battery?
    Is it all saved to internal flash?
    Obviously what I don't know about the Q can fill volumes.
    :)
    J
  4. igotaq

    igotaq New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Messages:
    956
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think it'll stay on the phone till u do a master reset.

    I would power the phone off before yanking the battery out to put a new one in.
  5. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    that im not sure of
    never had it come to that....

    i think it should always hold the info on the device no matter what
  6. schmidtj

    schmidtj New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just received my Windows Mobile book from Amazon. It specifically states the smartphones keep programs and data in ROM (Flash?) memory which is not volatile. This is definitely different than the way Palm does it where everything on my old Treo was kept in RAM memory which required battery power to keep it from getting lost.
    J
  7. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    perhaps but i can certainly tell you that my Q has frozen before and the only way to turn it off is to pull the battery
    and once it came back on everything was there....perhaps letting the battery drain to zero is different
  8. schmidtj

    schmidtj New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think we are actually in agreement. The Q does not need the battery to maintain the data. Right?
  9. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    if you need to change out batteries then go for it
    i never let the device sit for days without it...not sure why you would or would want to....

Share This Page