automatic time zones

Discussion in 'Motorola Q' started by MYoung, Jul 25, 2006.

1. MYoung

MYoung New Member

automatic time zones

Hello, I have had the Q for 6 days and fly all over the 48. I noticed under the settings folder, the clock and alarm. When I go to date and time it allows me to pick my time zone, for which I live. But, when I went to a different state the clock did not update itself. Is there something else that needs to be activated to allow the clock to sync to the proper time zone...please help, thx MYoung.:)
  2. Dubbal R

Dubbal R New Member

My theory (I am not a scientist) is that the phone does not "know" that it is in a different time zone. To "let your phone know" that it is in a different zone, it needs to be triggered somehow. Try making a call so that when it hits the nearest tower the phone's clock will sync with the network. If that does not work, try turning the phone off, then on again.

Hope this helps.
  3. MYoung

MYoung New Member

Thanks Dubbal R
    I did have the phone off while in the plane, but I will try the first suggestion and make a phone call. Thx again, MYoung.
  4. hnsimpson

hnsimpson New Member

I think that the Q does not automatically update time zones.

-Simpson
  5. irebuka

irebuka New Member

You are absolutely right. I have done all the turning off and on again; made the calls in zone without success. I am surprise that the boys at Moto did not think of this as a necessary component.
    I heard that upgrading the OS may solve the problem. Has anyone tried it?
    Somebody, please!!
  6. GWK

GWK New Member

only way I found was to manually change zones. As fa as I know I have all upgrades. It really sucks as all phones I used in th past seemed to pick up the change as soon as turned on. We can hope for a fix.
  7. apperrault

apperrault New Member