AT&T Q9h Global Locked Down File Manager

Discussion in 'Moto Q 9h' started by Duke4062, Nov 12, 2007.

  1. Duke4062

    Duke4062 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    684
    Likes Received:
    0
    Fixed/Just needed the 07 v.
    Thanks for pointing me in the right direction!! I found the resco file explorer 2007 and it allowed me full access to the Q like I had on my original Q with the File Explorer. Now my start menu icons are arranged how I want them and not how at&t tried to lock them down!
  2. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    AWESOME!
    glad you were able to get it the way you wanted :laugh2:
  3. madmartian

    madmartian New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    The solution to being able to move .lnk and .xml files around is this:

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Security\Policies\Policies\00001001
    Change the value data from 2 to 1

    No more "access denied", at least in the Start Menu. I still get it in the Windows folder, so I am still experimenting.
  4. Duke4062

    Duke4062 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    684
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried that. It didn't work for me. There must of been something you did prior to the change of that value because mine is clearly changed and still certain items in the start menu are locked down. Resco 2007 works though I wish the regular file mgr. would.
  5. madmartian

    madmartian New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm not using the internal file manager - I'm doing drag/drop via the Explore button in ActiveSync.
  6. Duke4062

    Duke4062 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    684
    Likes Received:
    0
    Interesting.. I never thought of that. Where is the start menu though? I cant figure out how to navigate to it. Seems like the Explore option shows a stripped down version of the system.
  7. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    \windows\start menu
  8. Duke4062

    Duke4062 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    684
    Likes Received:
    0
    I know that. When I click explore there is no way to navigate there from within activesync.
  9. madmartian

    madmartian New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Double click "my windows-based mobile device". That's not just a heading. :)
  10. Duke4062

    Duke4062 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    684
    Likes Received:
    0
    That is where I am looking.

    Could you break it down for me how to navigate there for ex. My windows based mobile device/windows/start menu/.
  11. madmartian

    madmartian New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't get it. You know exactly where to go. Not sure what's going wrong. Make sure you aren't hiding system files or something like that.
  12. Duke4062

    Duke4062 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    684
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh well I give up. Resco File Explorer works excellent from the Q9h so that suites me fine. I kinda find it weird though I have to pay for what the original Q's file manager did standard.

Share This Page