Another Computer Issue

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by n99hockey, Apr 8, 2009.

  1. shaun0207

    shaun0207 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tired the external's on 3 other computers. Not issues. I did just install the a Hallia Media Codec and MKV toolkit in to be able to display mkv files better. I ran CCleaner 8x and it cleaned some stuff but not issues. I ran Malwarebytes (it took 8hrs to do a full scan) and it had no issues.


    The files are 1 -2GB. Nothing big. The 20gb was just crazy.
  2. EQBob

    EQBob New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    3,416
    Likes Received:
    0
    Then try switching to a different port on the same PC. Since it has been working fine before, I bypassed the obvious 1.1 vs 2.0 compatability check. i.e. is it a 2.0 device in a 1.1 port.


    That shouldn't make a difference.
  3. Q-Area51

    Q-Area51 Guest

    Depending on the size of the pagefile and bufferring, here . . . size definitely makes a difference. I've dealt with this issue many times. If it worked fine previously as stated, I doubt that compatability is any concern. "Diff ports" is always a good first choice. :) -Q
  4. shaun0207

    shaun0207 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tried that too. I have four USB ports on my laptop. I had two external HDD connected and its happening with both drives
  5. EQBob

    EQBob New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    3,416
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does it happen when only both are connected?
  6. Q-Area51

    Q-Area51 Guest

    Are they both externally powered? I'm fairly sure that if they are powered by the laptop you probably can only use one at a time. :) -Q
  7. EQBob

    EQBob New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    3,416
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yep...that's what I was getting with on my post as well.
  8. Q-Area51

    Q-Area51 Guest

    +1 and most laptops only have one powered USB port but not always. :) -Q
  9. shaun0207

    shaun0207 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Really? I usually have all 3 USB powered ports connected and never had that problem. I also had my powered 1TB connected with having the others connected with no issues.
  10. EQBob

    EQBob New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    3,416
    Likes Received:
    0
    There's a difference in the power draw needs of say a mouse in one port and an exgternal drive on another.

    If you have access to a powwered USB hub, you might try moving the drives to that and see if that removes any problems.

    When you said you ook the drive to another PC for testing, was it a desktop or a laptop?
  11. Geekster

    Geekster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    4,952
    Likes Received:
    0
    I find that there is a difference between the "Send to.." command & Copy & Paste. I found that Copy & Paste works better with larger files than the "Send To..." command.
    Turn off you AV b/c it's probably scanning files while you are transferring from 1 drive to another w/c slows the read/write down which on some PC's makes one of the HD's "time out".
    YMMV
    Good Luck....
  12. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    just posting an update

    i dropped the laptop off at Best Buy for there 'Geek Squad' to see what they can do...since the drive is 1.8" and connects with a ribbon there is no enclosure that will work for it

    they are going to try to pull the data off the HD for me and put it on an external or DVD's...hope it works
  13. Q-Area51

    Q-Area51 Guest

    Sounds like a good plan, man. Hope it all works out for ya. I'd have been glad to do that for you if you didn't live so far away. HA !!! :) -Q
  14. shaun0207

    shaun0207 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tested it on both a laptop and a desktop. No issues.
  15. shaun0207

    shaun0207 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wonder if they could do that with my 1TB HDD that got broken?
  16. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    Bestbuy couldnt get it to work

    drove it over to another PC shop that does data recovery...they should be able to get my data

    Bestbuy refunded my money since they couldnt do the work...thought that was cool

    but with my time at Bestbuy i wound up buying a HP Netbook for myself :p
  17. Q-Area51

    Q-Area51 Guest

    HA !!!! You're worse than me. :) Enjoy your netbook !!!! Tell us all about it. :) -Q
  18. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    so far so good!

    i just have to get used to the small keyboard:tounge:
  19. EQBob

    EQBob New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    3,416
    Likes Received:
    0
    We have a couple of those class of notebooks at work. Use them as data collection devices. They work pretty darm well.
  20. n99hockey

    n99hockey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    57,525
    Likes Received:
    15
    yea so far its pretty good. going to be heading to san fransisco at the end of the month and will be a great plane device...

    wish the battery lasted a bit longer but ah well...serves its purpose

    -Sent from my Q9n

Share This Page