A few problems I have that are really, really bugging me...

Discussion in 'US Cellular' started by hakumeikage09, Oct 18, 2008.

  1. hakumeikage09

    hakumeikage09 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    A few problems I have that are really, really bugging me...

    Problem #1: Phone keeps randomly restarting. Is there a way to fix this? It's really getting annoying...

    Problem #2: Something's up with my MotoQ's MicroSD card. First off, going to the Memory Manager, it shows Unknown for Card Storage + CS Used + CS Free. And I can't do anything with it, I don't think. Plus, whenever I try to add something to it(it's 256mb), it always says its full. I don't know why, all that was on it was AIM and a less then 1mb PDF file...

    Any help at all would be greatly appriciated...
  2. mike250rs

    mike250rs New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    14,284
    Likes Received:
    0
    sounds like your running low on memory...

    things to try:
    get a bigger memory card.. they are pretty cheap now
    install/run SK lite to free up memory, can be had here..

    http://mq.roeiboot.com/apps/
  3. hakumeikage09

    hakumeikage09 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you know anyway to fix the SD card's error though? I don't have money to really spend right now.

    EDIT: I managed to get the full SKTools in it, and I'm trying to format the memory card, but it won't do it. It goes to a screen that says "All data will be lost!". I click okay, and nothing happens. Why?
  4. mike250rs

    mike250rs New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2007
    Messages:
    14,284
    Likes Received:
    0
    you can try to reformat the card. If you can't do it ffom the Q perhaps a digi cam or card reader can


    p.s. got my 4GB card for $15 shipped
  5. hakumeikage09

    hakumeikage09 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thats what I'm trying to do is reformat the card, but I can't
  6. marmarinou

    marmarinou New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    For the random restarts, have you tried a software update from the Motorola site?
  7. rfarrah

    rfarrah New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,454
    Likes Received:
    0
    FWIW, the update fixed the problem for me.
  8. hakumeikage09

    hakumeikage09 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    There AREN'T any updates for the Motorola Q... At least, not on their site. I go to try updating, and all I see is Q9c.
  9. geopoliticus

    geopoliticus New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    IIRC, the Motorola Q (not 9c) has no updates for the random restarting issue. When I had the Q, I recall having to take it back to my dealer and complain, they then gave me a new phone (it was within the first 15 days and they were able to do that). When the problem re-occured (months later), I had to call a number at USC that delt with warranty repairs. Did you purchase (I think $5/month) the replacement plan? If so you could get it repaired under that deal.

    The specific re-booting patch that is out I have only seen for the Q9c, so you are out of luck.

    Another thing you could try is to do a master reset on the phone. This might clear up the issue.

    Good luck.
  10. I8qbert

    I8qbert Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,463
    Likes Received:
    0
    What software version of WM5 do you have (you have a Q1 right?)
  11. I8qbert

    I8qbert Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,463
    Likes Received:
    0
    What!! Where did you snag that deal?
  12. I8qbert

    I8qbert Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,463
    Likes Received:
    0
    Never mind---haven't been shopping in a while. Pretty easy to find:laugh2:
  13. rfarrah

    rfarrah New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,454
    Likes Received:
    0

    I apologize - I didn't know the USCC Q1 had resetting issues (mine didn't) and so I assumed (poorly) that you were talking about the Q9c. Again, sorry for the confusion.
  14. gordymouw

    gordymouw New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Q9c restarting

    I have a Q9c, my work upgraded from the Q :(, I asked for the latest upgrades which they say they have. Its running WM 6.1 and it has the random restart issue bad. How annoying. Any advice??
  15. rfarrah

    rfarrah New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,454
    Likes Received:
    0
    FWIW, it sounds like it needs to be reflashed. But first, have you done a hard reset?

Share This Page